Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ken, chuck, doc VA discussion

Default ken, chuck, doc VA discussion

there is a discussion about the VA on this site about the pros and cons of the VA system. one person continues to say he wants to move the discussion but continues to respond. this leads to the others to respond.
    the VA is a very important part of the medical system for our veterans. i have heard rumors about how bad it is for many years but every veteran i have known who have been treated at the VA have never said it is not any worse than private practice systems. in fact most have compliments about their treatment.
    many people mostly conservative are against the govt being involved in services of any kind to the public. they would privatize almost everything the govt is involved social security, medicare, etc and some even the military. they believe that privately owned businesses are always better and more efficient. i am a business owner but i don't believe that any more than believing in the tooth fairy.
    privately owned businesses can do better if properly motivated but so could govt run operations. i could discuss the pros and cons of both but it really boils down to motivation. is the organization motivated to provide the very best service at the very best price. if two organizations have the same exact motivations, the non profit should have the best price because all privately owned businesses have a profit portion they MUST add in to the price. remember, private business is set up to make money for the owners. this is not bad but just a fact. but in the real world things get complicated. non profits get lazy and political. privately owned businesses also get lazy, political and greedy. accountability, over sight, and strong consequences are part of the answer but not completely.