Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Really worried now

1. Default Really worried now

I am new to hearing aids and dispite the fact that I work at a major medical center and had my audiogram done there found the prices of V90 Phonak's to be beyond my reach. I began to investigate the internet and found a "New" set in Finland for a very nice price. I paid for them via Credit Card through PayPal. After reading regarding eBay scams on this forum I'm a bit concerned though as yet the aids havn't arrived to confirm if I have an issue or not. Reading the sellers feedback on eBay was fine.

I have two concerns:

1) if their stolen or a fraud no serial numbers,( not working or non programmable) I know I can deal with eBay , PayPal and my CC company for recovery of funds so I'm a litte less worried about that part ... It's This that worries me the most....
    2) .....I see that getting the aids programed can be a real pain

If the aids are good where can I get them programmed ?? Any advice on both issues will be appreciated.
    Last edited by B747crew; 10-04-2015 at 03:38 PM.

Default Addition

I'm somewhat new to all this. I would say find a dealer called dispenser that sells the aids. Make an appt to get an audio gram and using that as a starting point the audiologist or dispenser can program them. but it will cost you. I'm thinking around $250-500??? Then this is where you start looking for the best price in your area.

In addition, i don't think they could care less if they are stolen (the dispensers do not act as the police or watch dog) and besides you need to understand how money works...it's $250-$500 bucks!
    Last edited by Trapez; 10-04-2015 at 07:55 PM. Reason: Addition
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    KS6 on 10/5/2015 (loss @ birth)

125 250 500 1k 2k 4k 8k
    ----------------------------
    L 20 30 55 60 65 75 60
    R 20 30 55 65 80 80 65

SRT Speech Reception (50+% words correct at this db)
    L 65db
    R 75db