Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: TV devices

Default TV devices

Still a relative newbie at this.

I have problems at times with the clarity of TV. The audiologist tells me this is common and recommended TV ears, though he didn't seem overly familiar with them or any assisted devices. What is the consensus here as far as best option?

I'm using Resound Linx.

Thanks.

I can't see why your audi is recommending TV Ears when you've paid him/her a whole bunch of money for high-quality hearing aids. Because I assume you'd have to take your hearing aids off/out to be able to use the TV Ears. Which are IMO probably quite inferior to your hearing aids from an audiological point of view.

I'm not a pro, not at all, but this seems to be how people who wear hearing aids approach this problem. None of these options involve taking out your hearing aids and putting them on the coffee table.

1. Do your aids have a specific program for "Television"? I'm not able to find this out about the Resound Linx, but most aids have this. You haven't posted any information about your hearing loss, but if possible, this would be the place to start. Get your audi to set up this program, and if it doesn't work as it should, keep going back until it's adjusted as well as possible. Although this might not eventually meet your needs, it's the simplest option, and one that doesn't involve any added expense.

2. If you need some more assistance, you could try a sound bar -- a speaker system that amplifies the audio from your TV. Some of these have adjustments that can help compensate for hearing loss (although some of those on the market seem IMO to be over-hyped, and over-priced).

2. If that isn't good enough, use a streamer. Resound has one specifically designed for this use: http://www.resound.com/en-US/hearing...s/tv-streamer2