Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Experience with Phonak hearing aids and audiologists

1. Default Experience with Phonak hearing aids and audiologists

I have been wearing hearing aids for over 20 years. Before, I owned Resound. I bought a pair of Phonak V90 from a audiologist two years ago in Wheat Ridge, Colorado. I am not sure if it is the audi or the hearing aids, I have had to replace the ear molds 6 times because they break or fit improperly. Each time, the ear molds are replaced, I go through major problems getting them readjusted. I have been to the audi at least 20 times in the last two years, because of a lot of echo or background noise. It takes numerous trips to re-adjust the background noise. I finally two months where they were acceptable.
    I went in this past Wednesday to replace the tube on the left ear; it was too short and rubbing the ear raw. I asked her to adjust the right ear down one notch in volume. I have to adjust it on my phone every morning. You would think this would be a simple task. I told her at this time, that I had an echo and the background noise was bad. She argued with me that she had not done anything to change the settings.

When I went to work on Thursday, the noise and echo was too much for me to hear properly. I went in this morning, asking her to re-adjust previous settings that worked before. She hooked up the Bluetooth to her computer and it immediately created more echo and background noise. She argued with that nothing had changed. I finally just left.
    I have contacted Phonak and their customer service is not very good. I talked to another audi that sell Phonak and they said they charge $700 per ear to take over any warranties or adjustments. I am not quite sure what direction to turn now. I not sure if Phonak are junk hearing aids or I have an audi that does not have a clue what she is doing. Any recommendations would be appreciated.