Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Newbie Questions

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    South West Florida
    Posts
    9

    Default Newbie Questions

    I have worn HAs in both ears since about 4 years old. I have been buying used digital, specifically Siemens Intuis and have done well with that. Recently bought a couple of pairs of Phonak, the Naida S 1 UP and Naida V UP. I am going to program them myself using the Target software and a ICube2. My question is as my loss is profound in both ears and I don't have an audiogram, haven't used an Audi in years as I do the ear molds through Lloyds, is it necessary to have an Audiogram to program them myself? Also is a cheap laptop with 2 gigs of RAM adequate to run the Target software? I really don't want to use a Audiologist for an Audiogram if I can help it as I despise the hard sell.
    Thanks for any input.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Central California
    Posts
    668

    Default

    System requirements for Target are 4gb of RAM https://www.phonakpro.com/us/en/reso...ts-target.html

    Do read the DIY threads. You should start by finding and downloading the Target software and see what you think.

    If you have a Costco somewhat nearby, you can get a "free" audiogram there, but it will cost you a $60 membership fee if you're not already a member.
    I'm not sure, but I think you have to input an audiogram to do the inital fitting. It would certainly make it a lot easier to program with a recent audiogram.

    Quote Originally Posted by jpinthekeys View Post
    I have worn HAs in both ears since about 4 years old. I have been buying used digital, specifically Siemens Intuis and have done well with that. Recently bought a couple of pairs of Phonak, the Naida S 1 UP and Naida V UP. I am going to program them myself using the Target software and a ICube2. My question is as my loss is profound in both ears and I don't have an audiogram, haven't used an Audi in years as I do the ear molds through Lloyds, is it necessary to have an Audiogram to program them myself? Also is a cheap laptop with 2 gigs of RAM adequate to run the Target software? I really don't want to use a Audiologist for an Audiogram if I can help it as I despise the hard sell.
    Thanks for any input.
    .25 .5 1 1.5 2 3.0 4.0 6.0 8.0

    15 15 20 30 30 55 75 90 NR ​KS7
    10 10 20 15 25 35 65 85 95 WRS 100/92@45/40

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    3,575

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jpinthekeys View Post
    I have worn HAs in both ears since about 4 years old. I have been buying used digital, specifically Siemens Intuis and have done well with that. Recently bought a couple of pairs of Phonak, the Naida S 1 UP and Naida V UP. I am going to program them myself using the Target software and a ICube2. My question is as my loss is profound in both ears and I don't have an audiogram, haven't used an Audi in years as I do the ear molds through Lloyds, is it necessary to have an Audiogram to program them myself? Also is a cheap laptop with 2 gigs of RAM adequate to run the Target software? I really don't want to use a Audiologist for an Audiogram if I can help it as I despise the hard sell.
    Thanks for any input.
    You can get a free hearing test at Costco even without being a member. Just call and make an appointment or go to the store and tell the person at the door you are their for a hearing test or to make an appointment. The only time you will need to be a member is if you buy the HA's from them. The same goes for eye exams.
    Oticon Agil Pro w/streamer

    -250 500 1000 1500 2000 3000 4000 6000 8000
    L 10--5----10----30---50----70----85---80---80
    R 5--10----20----35---45----85----85--100--100

    SP Disc ------------- SRT
    L 88% @55db ------- L-10
    R 90% @55db------- R-25

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Central California
    Posts
    668

    Default

    It might vary some from store to store. I was told I needed to be a member to schedule a hearing test.

    Quote Originally Posted by seb View Post
    You can get a free hearing test at Costco even without being a member. Just call and make an appointment or go to the store and tell the person at the door you are their for a hearing test or to make an appointment. The only time you will need to be a member is if you buy the HA's from them. The same goes for eye exams.
    .25 .5 1 1.5 2 3.0 4.0 6.0 8.0

    15 15 20 30 30 55 75 90 NR ​KS7
    10 10 20 15 25 35 65 85 95 WRS 100/92@45/40

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Orchard Park, NY
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Now that the Costco ad is over the answer the original poster's question is yes the Target program has what they call audiogram direct. That will put you in the ballpark of the correct settings. Normally one would do the feed-back test first. Just follow the normal tabbed workflow and it should work out. Download the Phonak fitting guide for a look at ho w to proceed.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    South West Florida
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Thanks all,
    Well, looks like I'll have to find someone to do an Angiogram, just hate to go through that as I'm not interested in purchasing their product. There is a few in my area, maybe one will do it if I pay for it.
    Thanks.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Orchard Park, NY
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Ummm, with audiogram direct you do your own audiogram through the aids using the Target program. I found it quite useful as the professional audiologist I had didn't please me.

  8. #8

    Default

    使用目标软件的“Audiogram Direct”功能,它会给你 一个听力图 ,而只是AC和UCL,没有BC。
    3.jpg
    Last edited by menglxs; 06-15-2017 at 07:10 PM.

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jpinthekeys View Post
    Thanks all,
    Well, looks like I'll have to find someone to do an Angiogram, just hate to go through that as I'm not interested in purchasing their product. There is a few in my area, maybe one will do it if I pay for it.
    Thanks.
    ?

    Cheer up dude..

    I suggest you skip the Angiogram!

  10. Default

    It's Audiogram, not Angiogram.

    Maybe you are missing the point. You don't have to buy any product to get an Audiogram. Just show up, get tested, then say these words. I need some time to compare the hearing aids that you are recommending to other brands. Also, I need a copy of my Audiogram. Don't take No for an answer to getting a copy of your Audiogram. It’s your medical history and you need it for discussing your hearing loss on Internet forums such as this. Don't leave without a copy of your Audiogram. With Costco it's easy/peasy. With a local Audi it may be more contentious.

    Also, since you are acquiring Hearing Aids/HAs from different manufacturers you may want to consider using a mini Pro/Hi Pro/cables/etc instead of the iCube II wireless programming device. Instead of being limited to a single platform from a single manufacturer, you would gain the ability to program a large variety of HAs.

    Here’s some links,,,
    >>mini Pro/Hi Pro/cables/etc VS convenient Wireless Programming Device<<

    >>Links for Hearing Aid Self Programming and Self Programmers<<
    Click >>Hidden Content << when your post count=10+ or Use Search for "self programming links"
    My Hidden Content , My Wife's Hidden Content

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •