Thread: Doctor-designed inexpensive hearing aid

Default Inexpensive hearing aid

We wanted to thank everyone that has provided comments or feedback regarding the Acoustitone PRO hearing aid.

WE created the Acoustitone PRO hearing aid as a low-cost option (<$200) or starter hearing aid for the approximate 20 million people with un-aided hearing loss in the USA that cite cost as the prohibitive factor (35 million with hearing loss, 28 million not wearing hearing aids, 66% of these cite cost as the main deterrent to getting hearing aids).

Based on feedback from our site, Amazon.com, and eBay, most of our patients are quite pleased with the performance of the Acoustitone PRO hearing aid. Many have commented that it works almost as well or sometimes better than hearing aids costing hundreds or thousands more.

This project started out as a service for those that cannot afford custom hearing aids. As a physician, my recommendation would be that if you can afford a custom product, you will most likely get the better result than with the Acoustitone PRO (although some of our patients have stated otherwise).

It is a one-size-fits-most hearing aid designed for mild-severe hearing loss. Keep in mind that it will not have the bells and whistles of the expensive hearing aids, but it will help people who otherwise cannot afford hearing aids and are currently doing without.

Due to all of the federal regulation surrounding hearing aids, this is a grass-roots effort to help patients with no other hearing aid option, so if you try it and are satisfied, please spread the word. http://MDHearingAid.com

We welcome any comments or suggestions, as there is an enormous (and growing due to the economy/housing market, etc) hearing loss population that cannot afford traditional hearing aids and are currently being underserved.

Thank you,

Dr Cherukuri
    Otolaryngologist (Ear, Nose & Throat physician)
    Chicago, IL